Don Pepe Taqueria and Mexican Grill


This was definitely a pleasant surprise. I never thought I would see the day when Poinciana had a Mexican restaurant. I guess dreams do come true. Don Pepe is located on Cypress Parkway and Doverplum. In The Promenade plaza. Known to many as the Publix plaza. A bit hard to find, but well worth the search.


When I entered I was greeted by Daphne. She filled me in on the protocol. You come to the counter, you order, she gives you a number, you have a seat, and she brings the food out to you. Nice and simple. The authentic Mexican music playing in the background reminded me of my Dad singing early Saturday mornings. Most places in Kissimmee play any regular Spanish music.

Chips and Salsa were very good. The salsa was not as spicy as I expected it to be, but flavorful. The chips were nice and crunchy. Had way too many of them. Nice. The folks who seem to be the owners were not very welcoming. Mind you, they were working hard in the back, but in no moment asked how everything was going and how the food tasted. Daphne seemed to be the only one making the magic happen.

You can’t ever go wrong with Jarritos. Tamarind was the way to go today. Yes, you are reading that correctly. 100 percent sugar.

Enchiladas Verdes with cheese. I had asked Daphne what she suggested and this was her choice. I like ordering them with cheese. Was expecting white cheese, but the yellow did not disappoint. I noticed people of different races coming in. That makes me happy to know food crosses all cultures.


It was a very generous portion. The prices are not bad at Don Pepe’s. While siting there several locals ordered the natural juices. That will be my choice for the next time.

The decor was amazing. I am a fan of Mexican restaurants since I grew up in Chicago, but have never seen this type of set up. Love it. I am hoping to come back with @vbterp and try some of their tacos. That tends to be our go to order in any new Mexican restaurant.


Operating hours are pretty good.  Open late. They have only been opened for a year, but I see them being successful in this area. I am hoping the community will be open to a Mexican restaurant. Don Pepe has found a niche here and should be here to stay. Daphne, gracias por todo. The service was awesome and the food was great.


Definite TWO THUMBS UP!!
Don Pepe Taqueria and Mexican Grill

853 Cypress Parkway

Kissimmee, FL 34759

(407) 978-6550

 

Don Pepe Taqueria and Mexican Grill Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

