Big Mama’s (Costa Maya)

The unexpected surprises are always the best. @tarajroth and I had a small window to “jump off the ship” and go and get a bite to eat. My buddy Bam from DCL suggested a place called Big Mama’s.
 


My favorite part of the story was him saying that it was not fancy and that we would get to see Big Mama while there. @Tarajroth and I looked at each other and agreed it had to be done.
 


It was a rainy day. For some strange reason I had my umbrella with me and we walked quite a bit to find a taxi. Long story on why taxis aren’t allowed anymore near the pier. We found a taxi and we were on our way.
 


When we arrived Bam was there at Big Mama’s. I always love when people suggest a place that they personally eat it. When we arrived we were greeted by Big Mama. Sweet woman who has owned the restaurant for a year now.
 


Hugo was our server today. we stayed under the small hut. We had the option of sitting by the beach, but the rain stopped us from doing it today.


Big Mama was standing in the front area of the restaurant advertising to all the tourist stopping by bragging about her fresh fruit Margaritas.
 


Big Mama had asked if I wanted some serious hot sauce and my answer without hesitation was yes.
 The tears would not stop. This stuff was very spicy. I loved it.
 

 Fresh Guacamole. @Tarajroth has this philosophy. If the guacamole is good then all the rest of the dishes have to be good. Now you see why I love this woman.
 


Steak Burrito
 


Cheese enchiladas with green sauce.
 


Overall a nice place. Don’t expect anything fancy. This is not for regular tourist. This place is for people who love local eats. Everyone is down to earth. They are all very attentive as soon as you arrive. The food is good. Mexican coke is a must. Guacamole is also a must. Big Mama is greeting everyone with a big smile. Check it out for yourself.


Big Mama’s
 Costa Maya
 When you arrive to the pier. Look for a taxi and ask for Big Mama’s. All the locals know about this place.

Location:Costa Maya

2 thoughts on “Big Mama’s (Costa Maya)

  1. We arrived this past week from carnival legend with a party of 10. We ate chips and salsa and 2 orders of chicken nachos. I regret to tell you and everyone how sick I got and 5 others in my party. We experienced severe stomach cramps, fever and severe debilitating diarrhea. We were in bed for the next 2 days of our vacation sipping ice chips. We missed our next excursion that costed us $1000 since we couldn’t go. Please stop serving contaminated food. I am home now and am still experiencing stomach pain cramps and diarrhea.

    • M, So sorry you experienced that. Please be sure to blog or report it somewhere. As a paying customer I didn’t have that experience. I feel very bad that you went through all that.

Leave a Reply

