Pepper Pot Grill (Nassau, Bahamas)

 My dear friend Leslie from DCL was the one who introduced me to this place years ago. Today I had to bring my buddy Chris with me. It is near the straw market. You have to cross the street from the main road and it’s hidden in the back. I asked some taxi drivers and they told me it was closed. I then asked around again and they directed me to where it was at.
 


It was the first time Chris was eating Jamaican food. This was truly a great place to start. Sandra was our server today. She was awesome. Got our food out quickly. The place is nice and clean. It is cash only. They claim to have the best Jamaican food on the island. It is strange to be in the Bahamas and have Jamaican food.
 


Mango Juice. This is what Chris ordered. I wanted to take a sip, but I was enjoying my carrot juice way too much.
 


Carrot Juice. I was expecting to taste carrots and soil. I was not expecting it to be creamy. I wanted five more of these. This juice is perfect.
 


Jerk Chicken with rice and peas and plantains. I remember it having more of a kick. This time around Chris said it was tasty, but it was missing the kick.
 


Curry chicken with white rice and plantains. This was my dish. The curry was perfect. Great taste. Had a nice spicy kick to it, but my issue were the bones in the chicken. Still delicious, just annoying. They have other sides that they offer. I love their plantains.
 


Fruit Cake. For dessert I had my eye on the chocolate cake they had near the register. To my surprise it was their Fruit Cake. Fantastic. I could not tell you what it had on the inside, but it was great. Chris and I were full and we still took more than one bite because it was that good.
 


Two Thumbs Up. Foodbidden Approved.
 
 
 Overall, the place is a hidden gem. It is off from the main road. Short walk and definitely worth it. Cash only. Place is clean. Ask for Sandra. She is awesome. Oxtail is on the menu. Busy during lunch time. Lots of locals call their orders in and come and pick them up.
 
 
 
 Pepper Pot Grill
 Nassau, Bahamas
 Near Market and George Street

Location:Between Market and George Street

Leave a Reply

