Rancho Latino (St. Thomas, USVI)


Here I was in St. Thomas after a long two weeks of work. I searched on line for a god spot. Found one called Rancho Latino. Dominican owned. While asking a buddy of mine if he knew where it was he directed me to a local who explained where the place was. She also said it was her own personal favorite spot.


Being directionally challenged made it difficult to get there, but I did finally arrive. On the bright side I got some good exercise. It is about a mile away from the ship. I found a shortcut walking back, so it seemed quicker.


This place was very nice. Decor was not extravagant, but made in a way to make you feel at home. I was welcomed as soon as I came in. I was very sweaty from all the walking and was given a napkin to wipe off. Very sweet ladies. Bianca was my server today and offered me a drink.


Jugo de Parcha. Passion Fruit Juice. I had asked for Tamarind, but they were all out. The passion fruit was very sweet. A bit too much for me.


Croquetas de Queso. Cheese croquetas. They were freshly made and came out very hot. I wanted to devour them all and had to wait for them to cool off a bit. Very good and very cheesy. Loved them.


Roast Pork, Mofongo, and salad. The tomato sauce on the side was interesting. Wasn’t sure if it was for the pork or for the Mofongo. Bianca asked what dressing I wanted for the salad and I decided to eat it plain. The pork was very savory. Each bite melted in my mouth. Nice and tender. The Mofongo was unreal. Loads of flavor and that hint of garlic that makes my mouth water every time I take a bite.


I always have to end it with a dessert. The Tres Leches is a must any place I go. This was very good. Not too sweet and the consistency was just right. Sometimes they tend to be too mushy. This one was firm and delicious. Two thumbs up for the dessert.

Overall, great place. Has some good reviews. Staff is sweet. Bianca was awesome. Music is perfect. Not too loud. Locals come here for lunch. Nice place to come and have a great meal.


TWO THUMBS UP!!

Rancho Latino (St. Thomas)
Vitraco Mall
W Indies Dock Road, Charlotte Amalie, Virgin Islands

Location:W Indies Dock Road, Charlotte Amalie, Virgin Islands

Leave a Reply

