Mi Tiendita Peruana

This was definitely an adventure not to be forgotten.


It all started with picking up @xobejm and looking for a new place to eat. Traffic was Nasty with a capital N. I didn’t know what to do or where to go, so I made a left from John Young onto Donegan and found another hidden treasure in Kissimmee. On Donegan and a block West of Michigan avenue.


Mi Tiendita Peruana is a supermarket/cafe. I had to double check they served food before we walked in. Walter the owner greeted me with a smile and welcomed @xobejm and I immediately. I knew I would love the place as soon as he welcomed us.


Walter told me what he recommended and I said, I will take one of each. Luckily, he only recommended two things for tonight. : ) He said, if you have never tried Peruvian food this is what you need to try.


You see me post this often, small and super tiny place. But very cozy. I felt very comfortable here after speaking with Walter. Peruvian cuisine is not something I am too familiar with, so I knew I was in for a surprise.


Surprise number one was the Tallarin Rojo. According to Perufood.blogspot.com:
“Tallarín Rojo: Homestyle Peruvian Spaghetti in Red Sauce”
Enough said. Amazing flavor!!


The creamy stuff on the side is what caught my eye. This was a good history lesson for me. According to Wikipedia: “Papa a la Huancaína (literally, Huancayo style potatoes) is a Peruvian salad of boiled yellow potatoes (similar to the Yukon Gold potatoes) in a spicy, creamy sauce called Huancaína sauce. Although the dish’s name is derived from Huancayo, a city in the Peruvian highlands, it has become a staple of everyday and holiday cuisine throughout the country.”
Mmmmmmmm….Amazing!! Creamy and a bit of spice makes it perfect. @xobejm and I were dipping our French Fries in it.


My second surprise was the Pollo a la Brasa. “Pollo a la Brasa, also known as Peruvian chicken or Blackened chicken in the United States and Charcoal Chicken in Australia, is a common dish of Peruvian cuisine and one of the most consumed in Peru, along with ceviche, and Chifa. The dish originated in the city of Lima in the 1950s.” Thank you Wikipedia. My order came with a bunch of French Fries that I did not photograph.


My chicken came with Ketchup, Huacatay (black mint leaves), and a tangy sort of sour cream. I didn’t get a chance to ask Walter what the white sauce was. I will ask next time I go. Oh yes, I am planning to go back. And Yes, it does look like Mickey. : )


After Walter saw me taking pictures of the food he invited me to take a look at a cake that a customer ordered. Pineapple Cake. It looked fantastic. I asked him if he had any now and he didn’t. You have to order this beauty ahead of time.


For dessert Walter suggested the Alfajor. “Alfajores are soft, delicate cookies from South America made, surprisingly, with cornstarch. The cornstarch gives the dough a smooth, satiny texture that makes it a dream to work with and produces a tender, crumbly cookie. Creamy Dulce de Leche holds the cookies together” Thank you Chow.com


Delicious. Not too sweet. The dulce de leche gives it just the right touch without being to overwhelmingly sweet. @tarajroth, who joined us later on, loved this one.


She had to take a bite of mine. What did ya think about the Alfajor @tarajroth????


I think the white powder thumbs say it all. How about @xobejm, what did you think????


White thumbs it is!! This is truly a great spot. Small and cozy just the way we like it. Great customer service. Walter even gave Baby Girl a Peruvian chocolate as a token of his appreciation. Although, it was us who appreciated him and his great business. They have been here for 6 years and they will be here for several more! Awesome place.

Walter, Muchisimas gracias por todo y especialmente como se portó conmigo y mi familia. Se lo agradecemos con todo corazón.

Wifey, Baby Girl, and Foodbidden APPROVED!! (With the white thumbs up!)

BUEN PROVECHO!!

Mi Tiendita Peruana
(407) 846-3255
1126 E Donegan Avenue
Kissimmee, FL 34744
Monday to Saturday: 9:00am to 8:00pm
Sunday: 9:00am to 5:00pm

Mi Tiendita Peruana on Urbanspoon

Location:1126 E Donegan Avenue, Kissimmee, FL 34744

Leave a Reply

