Puerto Rico’s Cafe

Puerto Rico’s Cafe


Amazing sign seen driving east or west on 192 in Kissimmee. A bit West of Central. @Xobejm and I were again feeling like something different and yet something delicious. While trying to avoid all types of holiday traffic I stumbled upon Puerto Rico’s Cafe. They have been here for over 20 years and I learned very quickly why that was.


There is this sense of elegance to this place. For a second, I felt I was actually in Puerto Rico while admiring the design of the building.


As is common for me to take my slanted pictures I truly was intrigued by the door. To the right of this door is another just like it. @Xobejm and I were not sure which one to open. Door number 1 or door number 2? We chose door number one, which is this door here.


This is way more space than I am used to around these parts. Lots of seating and the place is spotless. Locals come here to enjoy their cafecito con leche and a freshly made Mofongo.


The decor is amazing in Puerto Rico’s Cafe. All is laid out so well. And again I felt like I was in Puerto Rico all over again.


The bench caught my eye. And the lunch and dinner specials as well. : ) They have a variety of items to choose from and the specials change daily.


This is behind the wall where that bench was. It’s a little bar where you can get your smoothies, beer, etc. It’s also the counter to pay when you are done eating.
Now, on to the good stuff!!


Carmen, our server brought out a bread basket to start. This always makes my day. Just the right amount of garlic on top. Starting with this let me know that @xobejm and I were in for a delicious meal. Carmen was very nice and sweet. When Carmen walked away I got up to take some more pics and took the menu so I could be sure to write everything I ordered correctly. That’s when Rachel came to the table and made sure everything was okay. I explained what I was doing and she just wanted to be sure we had ordered already. Very friendly staff here and very attentive.


Rachel was sweet enough to bring out a Piña Colada smoothie for @xobejm. She not only did it for Baby Girl, but for another young girl in the restaurant. I thought that was awesome. I knew for a fact that Rachel must kill at night because she was way too nice.


I ordered the Churrasco (skirt steak) with white rice and black beans. These black beans were just like my mom made at home. Not too salty, which happens often in other restaurants. These were perfect. I ordered the steak medium and it was tender and delicious. @Xobejm ended up eating most of it as well. She loved this one.


Our second dish was the Mofongo stuffed with Chicken and garlic. Most places don’t serve it with the chicken broth on the side. Most times you have to ask for it. Here at Puerto Rico’s Cafe they include it with the dish. I ate almost all of this. This was fantastic.


For dessert we had the Cheese Flan, which came recommended by Carmen. Rachel said she preferred the Coconut flan. Rachel, by the way, is the grand daughter of the owner of Puerto Rico’s Cafe. Sweetest woman I have ever come across in any establishment. Made @xobejm and I feel very comfortable. I am not a lover of Flan but I took a bite and inhaled the rest of it. This was insanely good!!


Second dessert was the Tres Leches. This is Baby Girl’s favorite any place we go. I had a bite of this and this was very tasty. With all these dishes we had to bring one home with us. The Grilled Pork Chops for @tarajroth.


To Go: The Grilled Pork Chops with white rice, garlic bread, and small salad. Puerto Rico’s cafe has taken these pork chops to another level. Look at the size. These are nice and juicy. Truly the perfect pork chop.

Rachel and Carmen, Gracias por todo. La comida estuvo deliciosa! Vamos a regresar muy pronto.

Foodbidden APPROVED!!


Baby Girl APPROVED!!


This is a place to bring @Droolius, @eatlocalorlando, and @kokocooks. Cannot wait to be back here. Kissimmee’s locally owned restaurants are making me proud.

BUEN PROVECHO!!

Puerto Rico’s Café
(407) 847-6399
507 West Vine Street
Kissimmee, FL 34741
http://www.puertoricocafefl.com

Puerto Rico's Café on Urbanspoon

Location:507 W Vine St, Kissimmee, FL 34741

Leave a Reply

